Sharing Klip dashboards with groups: Default settings

Sharing a default dashboard with a group enables users in that group to interact with the dashboard according to the access you give them.

Note: This article describes sharing default dashboards, but you can also share and grant access rights to Klips and data sources with groups using the same method described here.

Sharing default dashboards with groups

Once you have created a group, you can manage that group’s default dashboards to control which dashboards each group member sees on their account.

When you set default dashboards for a group, you choose the group's rights to the dashboard, either "Use only" or "Use and edit":

  • Select Use only if you want users to be able to view the dashboard but not be able to edit it or share it with others.
  • Select Use and edit if you want to give users the ability to update, edit, share, or delete the dashboard.

You also determine the level of access (visibility) each group has to the dashboard, either "Add dashboard (required)", "Add dashboard", or "Add to library":

  • Select Add dashboard (required) if you want the user to see the default dashboard when they log into Klipfolio but be unable to remove it. Use this setting for users with "View-Only" role permissions (as they do not have access to a list of dashboards).
  • Select Add dashboard if you want the user to see the default dashboard when they log into Klipfolio and be able to optionally remove it.
  • Select Add to library only if you don't want the default dashboard to be automatically added to the user's active dashboard list but you want it to be accessible from their list of dashboards.

To share a default dashboard with a group:

  1. Click Users.
  2. Select the Groups tab.
  3. Click on the appropriate group’s name.
  4. Click the Dashboards link in the side-panel on the left.
  5. Click the Share a dashboard with this group link.
  6. Select one or more dashboards to share and click Share.
  7. Under the Rights option, from the drop-down list, select either Use only or Use and edit.
  8. Under the Visibility option, from the drop-down list, select either Add dashboard (required)Add dashboard, or Add to library only.
  9. Edit the Index value to determine the order the dashboards will be displayed on the main account page.
  10. If a warning displays that indicates you have not shared all of the Klips for the dashboard, click the link and select the Klips you want to share and their associated access rights. Click Save.
  11. On the Edit Group page, click Save to finish sharing default dashboards for this group.

To modify the default dashboard settings for a group:

  1. Click Users.
  2. Select the Groups tab.
  3. Click on the appropriate group’s name.
  4. Click the Dashboards link in the side-panel on the left.
  5. Beside Dashboards, click Edit.
  6. Modify the RightsVisibility, and Index settings by selecting an alternate option from the drop-down lists.
  7. To modify Rights to the dashboard's Klips, click the link that indicates the number of currently shared Klips, update access rights for the group, and click Save.
  8. On the Edit Group page, click Save to finish modifying default dashboard settings for this group.

Note: If you modify the Rights, Visibility, or Index values for a default dashboard, group members will not see the updates until you remove the existing member(s) from the group and re-add them.

To stop sharing a default dashboard with a group:

  1. Click Users.
  2. Select the Groups tab.
  3. Click on the appropriate group’s name.
  4. Click the Dashboards link in the side-panel on the left.
  5. Beside Dashboards, click Edit.
  6. Click Remove for the dashboard you no longer want to share with this group.

Learn more

 
Have more questions? Submit a request