This article describes general information about sharing and answers some questions about sharing rights and access, including:
- Sharing concepts
- Why can't I share an asset?
- Why can't I grant a user or group my preferred level of access?
- Do individual role permissions override group role permissions?
- Who can I share with?
When you share a dashboard, you also have the option of sharing the Klips on that dashboard. When you share a Klip, you also have the option of sharing the data sources associated to that Klip.
There may be times that you are unable to share an asset (dashboards, Klips, and data sources) or you are unable to grant a certain level of access to others.
For example, you might be able to share a dashboard but not all the Klips that display on the dashboard, or you can share a data source but the recipient cannot be given editing rights to that data source.
Why can't I share an asset?
There are a couple of factors that determine whether you can share an asset:
- Role permissions
- Sharing history
There are 3 roles included with Klipfolio, each with its own set of default permissions. However, you can optionally change the permissions for these roles or create a custom role, so there are infinite types of roles available. In other words, it is not the "role" that determines a user's rights, it is the permissions associated to the role that matter.
If you are unable to share an asset, it could be because you don't have the right permission to do so. For example, you could have the permission to "build a dashboard" but if you don't also have the permission to "share a dashboard", you will not be able to share the dashboard, even though you are its owner.
Note: The default permissions associated to the Admin role enable a user to access, edit, and share ALL assets in the account.
For more details on roles and permissions, go here.
The asset's sharing history
Is the asset you want to share one that was first shared with you by someone else, i.e., you are not the original sharer? In this case, the level of access you can grant to others depends on the access you were originally given. For example, if you were given "Edit" access, you will be able to grant "Edit" or "View" access to others. If you were given "View" access only, you will be unable to share the asset with others.
Why can't I grant a user or group my preferred level of access?
There are a couple of factors that determine the level of access you can grant to others when sharing:
- The recipient's role permissions
- Sharing rights granted to you (if you are re-sharing)
Recipient's role permissions
If you don't see the option to grant a user or a group "Edit" access, this means they don't have the necessary permissions. For example, you cannot grant "Edit" access to an individual user who has been assigned the default "View-only" role. In this case, the highest level of access they can be granted is "View". If an individual user is assigned the default "Edit" role, you can grant them "View" or "Edit" rights when sharing.
Sharing rights granted to you
If you are sharing an asset that was previously shared with you, the level of access you can grant to others when re-sharing depends on the level of access you were originally granted. For example, if an asset was shared with you and you were given "Edit" access, you will be able to grant "Edit" or "View" access when you re-share. But, if you were originally given "View" access only, you will not be able to share the asset at all.
Do individual role permissions override group role permissions?
Yes. Individual user permissions supercede group permissions. For example, if you belong to a group that allows "View" access but your individual user permissions allow "Edit" access, someone sharing an asset with you will be able to grant you "Edit" access. The reverse is also true, if you belong to a group that has "Edit" access but your individual user permissions only allow "View" access, someone sharing an asset with you will only be able to grant you "View" access.
Note: If you belong to more than one group and don't have any individual user permissions, then your access to an asset is determined by whichever group you belong to that has the greater level of access.
Who can I share with?
You can share assets with others in your account only. If you want to share a dashboard or a Klip with someone outside your account, we suggest using published links.