BETA - Managing your metrics

If you don’t see Klipfolio Trends options and want to get on the waitlist for our BETA metric functionality, go here.

If you are using our Klipfolio Trends BETA functionality, we would love to hear from you! Please send us your feedback by contacting beta@klipfolio.com or by contributing via our Community Forum.

 

After you create and explore your metrics, there are a few things you should know about accessing, editing, sharing, and deleting a metric.

This article contains the following sections:

Accessing metrics

To quickly find the metrics that matter most to you, you can set metrics as favourites. You can also filter to display either all metrics or only the metrics created by you.

Creating favourites

To get quick access to the metrics you refer to most often, set them as favourites. After you have set specific metrics as your favourites, they will display by default instead of your list of all metrics the next time you log in.

There are a few ways to set a metric as a favourite:

  • On the Metrics List page, click the Add to Favourites (star icon) for the metric(s) you want to add to your Favourites list. Alternatively, you can click the metric's 3-dot menu and click Add to Favourites.
  • In the Explore View, click the 3-dot menu beside the metric's name and select Add to Favourites. Alternatively, you can click the Add to Favourites (star icon) in the upper-right corner of the window.

Filtering to see the metrics you created

You can filter metrics on the Metrics List page to see only the metrics you’ve created.

To display the metrics you created:

  • On the Metrics List page, select My Metrics from the drop-down list (see below).

Editing metrics

After creating a metric, you can rename the metric, view and edit the details for its associated modelled data source, choose a different aggregation method, select an alternate method for calculating the total metric value for a date range, and change sharing access.

Note: The refresh rate for a metric is determined by its associated data source. If you want to edit a metric's refresh settings, go to its data source details page.

To edit a metric:

  1. In the Explore View, click the 3-dot menu beside the metric's name and click Edit.
  2. Rename the metric by selecting its current name and typing a new one.
  3. View and edit the details for the associated modelled data source by clicking the link under Data Source.
  4. Change the aggregation method using the drop-down list under Default Aggregation.
  5. Select an alternate method for calculating the total metric value for a date range, by selecting from All values, The latest values, or The latest values for each (Hour, Day, Month, Year), under Date and Time.
  6. Under Sharing, change sharing access.
  7. When you are finished editing the metric, click Save.

Sharing metrics

When you add a metric, you can either set the metric to only be visible to you or you can share it with others. When you grant access to others, this includes all users in your account who have an Admin or Editor role. Learn more about roles here.

When you share a metric, the recipient is granted "View" access, meaning they can explore the metric, trying out different visualization types, applying different filters, etc., but they cannot change the underlying data in the metric. Also, if the recipient alters the metric, their changes are only reflected in their version of the metric. Your original metric is not affected.

To edit metric sharing access:

  1. In the Explore View, click the 3-dot menu beside the metric's name and click Edit.
  2. In the configuration panel, scroll to the Sharing section and select All users (or Only you) from the drop-down list.
  3. Click Save.

Deleting metrics

You can delete a metric from your Metrics List page or from the metric's Explore View page.

To delete a metric from your Metrics List page:

  • On the Metrics List page, click the 3-dot menu for the metric you want to delete and click Delete.

To delete a metric from the Explore View page:

  • In the Explore View, click the 3-dot menu beside the metric's name and click Delete.

Learn more