BETA - Sharing Metric Klips and Klipboards

If you are using our Metric Klips BETA functionality, we would love to hear from you! Please send us your feedback by contacting beta@klipfolio.com or by contributing via our Community Forum.

 

You can share an individual Metric Klip® or a group of Metric Klips on a Klipboard.

Here are a few things to keep in mind when sharing:

  • You can only share Metric Klips and Klipboards that you created.
  • When you share, you grant view access to all users in your account. Coming soon - the ability to grant edit access.
  • If you share a Klipboard and afterward add Metric Klips to it, you need to either update sharing for the Klipboard to give recipients access to the added Metric Klips or share the additional Metric Klips individually.

This article contains the following sections:

Sharing Metric Klips

When you share a Metric Klip and grant the recipient "Can view and share” access, they can explore the Metric Klip, trying out different visualization types, applying different filters, etc., but they cannot change the underlying data in the Metric Klip. Any changes they make while exploring are only reflected in their version of the Metric Klip. Your original Metric Klip is not affected.

To share a Metric Klip:

  1. In the Explore View for the Metric Klip, click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the window.
  2. Under Metric Klips, click the drop-down and select Can view and share.
  3. Click Share.

To remove sharing for a Metric Klip:

  1. In the Explore View for the Metric Klip, click theShare button in the upper-right corner of the window.
  2. Under Metric Klips, click the drop-down and select No access.
  3. Click Share.

Sharing Klipboards

You can only share Klipboards that you create. Sharing a Klipboard doesn’t necessarily share all of its Metric Klips. For example, you may choose to manually unshare one or more individual Metric Klips on a Klipboard. If the Klipboard contains mixed Metric Klip access, indicated by the shared state called “Varied”, you can update sharing access for all of its Metric Klips by resharing the Klipboard.

To share a Klipboard:

  1. With the Klipboard open, click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the Klipboard.
  2. Under Klipboards, click the drop-down and select Can view and share.
  3. Under Metric Klips, click the drop-down and select Can view and share.
  4. Click Share.

To remove sharing for a Klipboard:

  1. With the Klipboard open, click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the Klipboard.
  2. Under Klipboards, click the drop-down and select No access.
  3. Under Metric Klips, click the drop-down and select No access.
  4. Click Share.

Sharing a link to a Metric Klip or Klipboard

Typically, when you share Metric Klips and Klipboards, as described above, they are added to the recipient’s list of assets. However, you can also share a link to a shared Metric Klip or Klipboard by sending colleagues a copy of its URL. Doing so provides instant context for the Metric Klip, as the recipients view it from your perspective. It’s a great way to start a conversation and propose actions based on learning points in your Metric Klips.

Note: The recipient of the URL must be logged into Klipfolio and the Metric Klip (or Klipboard) must be shared with All Users.

To share a link to a Metric Klip:

  1. In the Explore View for the Metric Klip, click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the window.
  2. Click Get Link.
  3. Paste the link and send it to others. Advise them to sign into their account and then paste the shared URL link into a browser to see your Metric Klip.

To share a link to a Klipboard:

  1. With the Klipboard open, click the Share button in the upper-right corner of the Klipboard.
  2. Click Get Link.
  3. Paste the link and send it to others. Advise them to sign into their account and then paste the shared URL link into a browser to see your Metric Klip.

Learn more