BETA - Sharing metrics and Metric Boards

If you are using our Metric BETA functionality, we would love to hear from you! Please send us your feedback by contacting beta@klipfolio.com or, if you have questions, please contact our Support Team.

 

You can share an individual metric or a group of metrics on a Metric Board.

Here are a few things to keep in mind when sharing:

  • When granting sharing access, you can only grant your level of access or less. For example, if you have “Can view and share” access to a metric, you cannot give “Can edit” access to someone else.
  • When sharing a Metric Board, any metrics for which you don't have sharing rights are indicated with a "lock" symbol.
  • When you grant sharing access to a Metric Board, you can optionally give unique sharing access for each of its metrics. Metric Board sharing settings don't override those of its metrics.

For example, if you share a Metric Board with "Can view and share" access, you can give "Can edit" access to any or all of its metrics.

  • Admin users need to be granted sharing access in order to interact with metrics or Metric Boards. They are not automatically given access.
  • All users, including those with the Admin role, can only share with groups of which they're a member.
  • When you add a metric to a dashboard (in the Custom Dashboards area of Klipfolio) you can access additional sharing features, enabled via the dashboard for the metrics and Klips within it. Learn more here.

This article contains the following sections:

Sharing metrics

You can share metrics with individual users or groups within your organization.

When you share a metric and grant the recipient "Can view and share” access, they can share the metric with others and explore the metric, trying out different visualization types, applying different filters, etc. However, they cannot change the underlying data in the metric. Any changes they make while exploring are only reflected in their version of the metric. Your original metric is not affected.

To enable others to make changes to the original metric, you must grant them "Can edit" access.

To share a metric:

  1. In the Explore View for the metric, click theShare button in the upper-right corner of the window.
  2. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the metric. You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients (accessed by clicking the drop-down arrow). Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  3. Under Metrics, click the drop-down arrow and select Can edit or Can view and share.
  4. Click Share.

Sharing Metric Boards

When you share a Metric Board, you can either grant unique access to individual metrics or grant the same level of access to all metrics on the Metric Board.

To share a Metric Board:

  1. With the Metric Board open, click theShare button in the upper-right corner.
  2. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the Metric Board. You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients (accessed by clicking the drop-down arrow). Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  3. Under Metric Boards and Metrics, click the drop-down arrow and select Can edit or Can view and share.
  4. Click Share.

Modifying access to shared metrics and Metric Boards

After you share a metric or Metric Board, you can view, modify, or remove the sharing rights you previously granted to others.

To modify access to a shared metric:

  1. In the Explore View for the metric, click theShare button in the upper-right corner of the window.
  2. Click the link to open the access dialog (as shown below).

  1. Select from the drop-down list under Metrics to update others' access or click the Remove icon to remove them from the list.

Note: Available options include Can Edit, Can view and share, and No access. The Varied icon represents mixed access to the assets, for example, a user could be the owner of some assets but only have view access to the rest. Remember - you can only grant sharing access that aligns with your access level or below.

  1. Click Save.

To modify access to a shared Metric Board:

  1. With the Metric Board open, click theShare button in the upper-right corner of the Metric Board.
  2. Click the link to open the access dialog (as shown below.)

  1. Select from the drop-down lists under Metric Boards and Metrics to update others' access or click the Remove icon to remove them from the list.

Note: Available options include Can Edit, Can view and share, and No access. The Varied icon represents mixed access, for example, a recipient could have “Can view and share” access to one of the metrics on the Metric Board and “Can edit” access to the rest of the metrics. Remember - you can only grant sharing access that aligns with your access level or below.

  1. Click Save.

Note: If you click the Remove icon when modifying access to a Metric Board, you are removing access to the Metric Board. Its metrics will retain their previous sharing settings.

Notes on sharing permissions and access

You can request access to a metric from the metric's owner. To see the owner for a metric, click the metric's 3-dot menu, either from its Explore View or from a Metric Board (when in View mode), and select About (name of the metric).

Your ability to share a metric or Metric Board depends on:

  • Your permissions, determined by the settings selected for your role. To share a metric you must have the "Share metrics" permission associated to your user role. To share a Metric Board, you must have the “Share dashboards” permission associated to your user role. Learn more about user role permissions here.
  • Your access to the metric. If you do not have access, you will not be able to share the metric with others.

The recipient's access to the shared metric depends on:

  • The recipient's permissions, determined by the settings selected for their role. Regardless of the access level you are granted by the sharer, you can only interact with a metric according to the permissions associated with your role. For example, as a user, if you are assigned to the default "View-Only" set of role permissions and someone shares an asset with you that gives you editing rights, you won't be able to edit the asset because your role permissions don't allow editing.
  • The level of access granted by the sharer. For example, if a sharer gives you viewing access to a metric and you have a set of permissions that allows editing, you will only be able to view and share the metric.

Sharing a link to a metric or Metric Board

Typically, when you share metrics and Metric Boards, as described above, they are added to the recipient’s list of assets. However, you can also share a link to a shared metric or Metric Board by sending colleagues a copy of its URL. Doing so provides instant context for the metric, as the recipients view it from your perspective. It’s a great way to start a conversation and propose actions based on learning points in your metrics.

Note: The recipient of the URL must be logged into Klipfolio and the metric (or Metric Board) must be shared with them, either directly or with a group of which they're a member.

To share a link to a metric:

  1. In the Explore View for the metric, click theShare button in the upper-right corner of the window.
  2. Click Get Link.
  3. Paste the link and send it to others. Advise them to sign into their account and then paste the shared URL link into a browser to see your metric.

To share a link to a Metric Board:

  1. With the Metric Board open, click theShare button in the upper-right corner of the Metric Board.
  2. Click Get Link.
  3. Paste the link and send it to others. Advise them to sign into their account and then paste the shared URL link into a browser to see your Metric Board.

Learn more