Sharing: Email notifications

When you share an asset with individual users in your account, an email notification is automatically sent to the recipient.

The email notification includes the following information:

  • The sharer's name
  • The asset's name
  • The recipient's access to the asset (Edit or View)
  • A link that goes to the asset in the recipient's account:
  • Clicking on the link for a Klip or a data source takes the recipient to the asset's details page.
  • Clicking on the link for a dashboard opens the shared dashboard and adds it to the recipient's list of open dashboards (in the left navigation bar).
  • Clicking on the link for a metric opens the shared metric in its Explore View.
  • Clicking on the link for a Metric Board opens the shared Metric Board.

What else do I need to know?

Here are a few more things you should know about email notifications:

  • Email notifications are not supported for group sharing. They are only supported when sharing assets with individuals.
  • Each asset that is shared sends a unique email notification. For example, if you share 5 Klips with an individual, the recipient will get 5 separate email notifications.
  • Email notifications only include the primary shared asset, not secondary assets. For example, if you share a dashboard, the notification won't include details for the Klips and data sources associated with the shared dashboard.
Have more questions? Submit a request