When you share an asset (for example, a metric or a dashboard) with individual users in your account, an email notification is automatically sent to the recipient.
What's included in the email notification?
The email notification includes the following information:
- The sharer's name
- The asset's name
- The recipient's access to the asset (Edit or View)
- A link that goes to the asset in the recipient's account:
- Clicking on the link for a metric opens the shared metric.
- Clicking on the link for a metric dashboard opens the shared metric dashboard.
What else do I need to know?
Here are a few more things you should know about email notifications:
- IMPORTANT: If you unsubscribe from these emails, but you will not be able to re-subscribe.
- Email notifications are not supported for group sharing. They are only supported when sharing assets with individuals.
- Each asset that is shared sends a unique email notification. For example, if you share 5 metrics with an individual, the recipient will get 5 separate email notifications.
- Email notifications only include the primary shared asset, not secondary assets. For example, if you share a metric dashboard, the notification won't include details for the metrics and source data associated with the shared metric dashboard.