PowerMetrics: Adding users

Users that are invited to your account will receive an email that prompts them to create a password and log in. Users can either enter their name and password manually or sign up with their Google account. Learn more about Klipfolio sign-in options.

When inviting users to your account, you assign each user to either an Editor or a Viewer role. If you decide to change permissions for a user or to assign them to an Administrator role, you can do that later from their individual user details page.

When inviting users, you can optionally add them to a group. You can also add users to groups later from the Groups page in the Admin section of the UI.

There are two groups included in your account: All Users and Default. Every user in your account is automatically added to the All Users group. Note that you can’t manually add users to or remove them from this group. When you invite new users to your account, you can optionally add them to the Default group (or any group you’ve already created for your account). Note that for older accounts, this group is called Trial Users.

This article includes:

How do I invite users?

You can either invite a single user or multiple users (one at a time as a list).

To invite users (and, optionally, update their role and add them to a group):

  1. Click the account and settings button in the left navigation sidebar and select Users.
  2. On the Users page, click the Invite users button.
  3. Enter the email address for a person you want to invite to your account and click the + button.
  4. Continue entering people’s email addresses, clicking the + button for each one.
  5. When you’re done adding email addresses to the list, for each address:
    • Click the drop-down arrow under Role and, optionally, select a different role for the user (either Viewer or Editor).
      Note: If you use both of our products, you'll see Klips and PowerMetrics here instead of Role. You can select Viewer or Editor for each product. If you want to restrict access to a product by user, click No access.
      Note: The number of available users is determined by your plan. For more information, see the section below “What if I exceed my user limit?”
    • Click the drop-down arrow under Group and, optionally, select a group to add the user to.
      Note: The Default group comes in handy if you haven’t added groups to your account yet. After adding users to this group, you can, optionally, change its name to something more meaningful in the Group settings area of the Admin UI. (Click the account and settings button in the left navigation sidebar and select Account. In the left sidebar, select Groups > Select the Default group > at About this group, click Edit > at Name, enter a new name > Click Save.)
  6. When you’re finished adding users to the invite list, click Send invitations.

Watch this video for a brief demo on inviting users, updating their role, and adding them to a group:

How do I send a new invite or password link?

If there are issues with the invitation, for example, if it was deleted by accident or it expired (email invites are only valid for 48 hours from the time they’re sent) the account administrator can send the user a new invite link, or a new password link, or resend the email invitation.

To generate a new invite, or password link, or resend an email invitation:

  1. Click the account and settings button in the left navigation sidebar and select Users.
  2. On the Users page, select a user.
  3. From the User's details page, click Resend Invite, or Get New Invite Link, or New Password Link.
    If you choose “Get New Invite Link” or “New Password Link”, a unique URL is generated. When clicked the user is prompted to create a password and is automatically logged into the account.

What if the email address is already in use?

When inviting users, you may get a message that says the email address you entered is "already in use". (Note that email addresses must be unique to Klipfolio.)

This can happen if your colleague already has a Klipfolio account, for example, with a different company.

What to do:

  • If they need to use the current email address for another Klipfolio account, ask them for a different email address
  • If your colleague doesn't know if they have an existing account, contact Klipfolio Support.

What if I exceed my user limit?

The number of users you can add depends on your pricing plan. If, when inviting users, you exceed the number of users for your pricing plan, you’ll be prompted to upgrade your plan or purchase a user top-up. After increasing the number of users available to you, you can continue inviting users. 

Learn more

Have more questions? Submit a request