Roles represent a collection of users that are assigned permissions by an administrator to perform similar actions or functions. A user can belong to one or more roles. If a user is a member of more than one role their access permissions are merged.
In addition to the built-in roles of Admin, Editor, View-Only, and View-Only (No Metrics) that come with Klipfolio, you can create your own custom roles. It is recommended that you use the built-in roles when you set up permissions because it simplifies the process of deployment.
If you assign a user Administrator rights, remember they will have access to all information associated with your account as they are not governed by any group access rights.
Important: Both role and group access rights affect a user's permissions. For example, if a user is assigned the editor role and is a member of a group with use only rights to a specific Klip, the user will be unable to edit the Klip even though they have editor permissions.
Permissions and permitted actions
The following table lists the permissions that are assigned to the built-in roles of Admin, Editor, View-Only, and View-Only (No Metrics) that come with Klipfolio.
What's new? We’ve added a new View-Only role that includes access to the BETA Metrics experience in Klipfolio. To give existing View-Only users access to Metrics (BETA), you need to migrate them from the View-Only (No Metrics) role to the new View-Only role. By default, View-Only users now have the ability to set a dashboard to display in full-screen mode and apply either a light or dark theme. In addition, they can view the list of dashboards that have been shared with them, and open, close, and rearrange the order of dashboards in the side navigation bar. The previous View-Only role has been renamed to View-Only (No Metrics).
If you have users who are assigned to the View-only (No Metrics) role, please note:
- You will have access to the “View-Only (No Metrics)” option as well as our new, updated version, that supports our BETA Metrics feature. If you want your View-Only users to be able to access Metrics (BETA), they must use the new View-Only role.
- If the View-Only (No Metrics) role is assigned to at least one user in your account, that option will continue to be available to you. After you migrate all users to the new View-Only role, the View-Only (No Metrics) option will no longer be available.
- As a Partner, if you sign into a client account as “View-only”, you will use the view-only role variant that’s active in the client’s account. If View-Only (No Metrics) roles are being used in the client account, you will sign in using that role. If there are no users with the View-Only (No Metrics) role, you will sign in using the new View-Only role.
- In the past, if you shared a dashboard with a group and applied the visibility setting “Add to library only”, the dashboard would be added to the user’s list of dashboards but those with the View-Only (No Metrics) role wouldn’t be able to see the list. The new View-Only role enables the user to see the list of dashboards.
We advise you to check the dashboards you’ve shared with View-Only (No Metrics) users and make sure you are happy with users’ access before migrating users to the new View-Only role.
View-Only (No Metrics)
|Access Klips||View a list of Klips to which you have access||☑||☑|
|Build Klips||Create new Klips||☑||☑|
|Share Klips||Change Klip share rights||☑||☑|
|Email Klips||Email Klips and schedule email snapshots||☑||☑|
|Embed Klips||Create and manage embedded instances of a Klip||☑||☑|
|Download Klips||Transfer a Klip locally||☑||☑|
|Edit Klips||Modify Klip content||☑||☑|
|Delete Klips||Permanently remove a Klip from the list of Klips||☑||☑|
|Import Klips||Import a Klip to/from a client account||☑||☑|
|Access dashboards||View a list of dashboards to which you have access||☑||☑||☑|
|Build dashboards||Create a new dashboard||☑||☑|
|Share dashboards||Change dashboard rights||☑||☑|
|Publish links to dashboards||Generate published links to share with others||☑|
|Email dashboards||Email dashboards and schedule email snapshots||☑||☑|
|Download dashboards||Transfer a dashboard locally||☑||☑|
|Edit dashboards||Modify a dashboard||☑||☑|
|Delete dashboards||Permanently remove a dashboard from the list of dashboards||☑||☑|
|Manage dashboard visibility||Manage all dashboards||☑|
|Import dashboards||Import a dashboard to/from a client account||☑||☑|
|Access data sources||View a list of data sources to which you have access||☑||☑|
|Create data sources||Create new data sources||☑||☑|
|Share data sources||Change data source rights||☑||☑|
|Download data sources||Transfer a data source file locally||☑||☑|
|Edit data sources||Modify a data source file||☑||☑|
|Delete data sources||Permanently remove a data source file from the list of data sources||☑||☑|
|Import data sources||Import a data source to/from a client account||☑||☑|
|Create metrics||Create a new metric||☑||☑|
|Edit metrics||Modify a metric||☑||☑|
|Delete metrics||Remove a metric||☑||☑|
|Share metrics||Share a metric||☑||☑|
|Add/remove/rearrange dashboards||Manage dashboards||☑||☑||☑|
|Add/remove/rearrange Klips||Manage dashboard Klips||☑||☑|
|Switch theme||Switch dashboard theme||☑||☑||☑|
|Enter full-screen mode||Enter full-screen mode||☑||☑||☑|
|See comments||View Klip notations||☑||☑||☑||☑|
|Add/edit comments||Manage notations||☑||☑|
|See data source warnings||View data source warnings||☑||☑|
|See Getting Started links||View Getting Started links||☑||☑|
User, Groups and Roles
|Manage all users, groups, and roles||Administer/edit Klipfolio user accounts, groups, and roles||☑|
|View all users||View a list of users||☑||☑|
|View all groups||View a list of groups||☑||☑|
|Edit profile||Modify settings on users' "My Profile" page||☑||☑|
|Manage company settings||Administer company branding||☑|
|View account usage||View event logs, refresh history and published dashboards||☑|
|Manage connected accounts (OAuth tokens)||Administer own OAuth tokens||☑||☑|
|Access API||Authenticate and send requests to Klipfolio API
Contact your dashboard admin for full API permissions
|Manage all Klips||Administer dashboard Klips||☑|
|Manage all dashboards||Administer all dashboards||☑|
|Manage all data sources||Administer data source files||☑|
|Manage all clients||Administer all client accounts regardless of share rights||☑|
|Manage all comments||Administer Klip notations||☑|
|Access clients||Allow access to the client section in partner accounts||☑||☑|
|Add clients||Create new client accounts||☑||☑|
|Share clients||Change rights to client accounts||☑||☑|
|Edit clients||Modify client accounts||☑||☑|
|Delete clients||Remove client accounts||☑||☑|
|Signin as admin||Login to the client account as an administrator||☑||☑|
- How do I add a custom role?
- How do I remove a user from a custom role?
- How do I remove a custom role?