Introduction to Client Account Status settings

Client Account Status determines the level of access clients and users have to a client account.

There are four modes to choose from when creating or editing a client account:

Setup Mode

Typically, Setup Mode is used when you are creating client accounts. This mode enables the partner to set up a client account behind the scenes before granting access to the client.

In Setup Mode:

  • You cannot add users.
  • Dashboards do not impact your monthly fees.
  • You cannot share live dashboards with clients or use published links.
  • You can download or email dashboards, but each Klip on the dashboard will have a Setup Mode watermark in the background.
  • Once an account’s status is changed from Setup Mode, it cannot return to this mode.

Trial Mode

Partners can set up a trial account as a way of letting clients test the service before committing to a paid account. By giving clients hands-on access to the same tools and features as in Active Mode, Trial Mode accounts demonstrate what a full account can offer them in the long term.

In Trial Mode:

  • You can add and remove users.
  • You can share live dashboards and use published links.
  • A Client can remain in Trial Mode for free for 14 days, with the option to extend the trial for an additional 14 days.
    Note: To extend a trial period, the Client must request an extension before the end of their first trial period.
  • You can view the remaining days in the Client’s trial by navigating to Partner Account>Clients and looking below the Status heading.

Active Mode

Accounts in Active Mode are operational, paid accounts. Clients have access to dashboards, Klips, and data sources as long as their accounts are active.

In Active Mode:

  • You can add and remove users.
  • You can share live dashboards and use published links.
  • Each time you assign resources to a Client (dashboards and users, depending on your pricing plan), it reduces the remaining number of resources available for you to use in the Parent account or assign to clients.
  • Use the API Calls per Day option to control the number of calls the Client can make to the Klipfolio API.

    Note: API Calls per Day only refers to those made to the Klipfolio API and is not related to API calls for data sources set up using Klipfolio connectors. Because Klipfolio API calls are typically only used in the Parent account for managing assets (such as clients, dashboards, Klips, and data sources), we recommend setting the API Calls per Day option to the default of 0 Daily Requests for Clients. Learn more about the Klipfolio Dashboard API.

Disabled Mode

Disabled Mode is used to make a client account inactive. You can switch back to Active Mode at any time, allowing you to maintain important client relationships should the client decide to resume service.

In Disabled Mode:

  • Dashboards assigned to disabled accounts no longer count towards resource limits in your plan.
  • Disabled accounts can still be accessed from the Parent account.
  • Dashboards cannot be viewed using published links.
  • Dashboards cannot be downloaded.
  • Users that try to log in will see a message that their account is suspended