Sharing data sources

You can share data sources with individual users or groups within your organization, enabling others to view the data sources (when granted “View” access) or view and modify the data sources (when granted “Edit” access).

When you share a modelled data source, the data source from which it was built is not automatically shared. If you want the recipient to be able to access the original data source, you need to share it separately.

This article includes:

Sharing concepts

Regardless of where you're sharing from, there are a few common actions to note:

  • If you don't have sharing rights for all of the selected data sources, numbers will display beside Data Sources, indicating how many you have the rights to share (as shown in the example below).

  • At any time, you can click the link beside access (for example, "3 users and 2 groups have access") to see who currently has access to the data source(s) and to optionally change or remove their access. To apply the changes, click Apply. To return to the Share window without making changes, click Cancel. For information on modifying access to shared data sources, see this section.
  • If you want to upgrade your sharing rights for some or all of the data sources, we suggest you contact their owner. If the data source owner upgrades your access but you are still unable to share a data source, it may be that your user role permissions don't allow you to "Share data sources". Learn more about user role permissions here.
  • After you share a data source, it displays in the recipient's list of data sources.
  • When you share a data source with an individual in your account, an email notification is automatically sent to the recipient. Learn more about email notifications here.

How do I share a data source?

You can share a data source from:

Sharing from your list of data sources

When you share from your list of data sources, you can select single or multiple data sources to share.

To share from your list of data sources:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Data Sources.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the data sources you want to share and click Share.

If you select one data source to share, its name displays at the top of the Share window. If you select more than one data source to share, the total number of selected data sources displays.

  1. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the data source(s). You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients (accessed by clicking the drop-down arrow). Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  2. Grant appropriate access for the user or group for the Data Sources by selecting the relevant icon from the drop-down lists (either Edit or View).
  3. When you are finished adding users and adjusting their access, click Share.

Sharing from a data source's details page

To share a data source from its details page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Data Sources.
  2. Click the name of the data source to open its details page.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Click Share with users.
  6. Add users and adjust their access, as detailed above.
  7. When you are finished, click Share.

Sharing from your All Groups page

Sharing from your All Groups page is an alternate way of sharing data sources with groups. Note that only raw (unmodelled data sources) can be shared using this method.

To share from your All Groups page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Users.
  2. Click Groups to open the All Groups page, where all of the groups in your account are listed.
  3. Click the group with which you want to share the data source.
  4. Click Data Sources and then click Edit. (See below.)

  1. In the Rights column, choose the group’s level of access to the data source, either Use and edit or Use only.

Note: At this point (before saving your changes) you can add more data sources to share with the group. (See below.)

  1. Click Save.

How do I modify access to a shared data source?

After you share a data source, you can view, modify, or remove the sharing rights you previously granted to others.

You can modify sharing access from:

Modifying access from your list of data sources

When you modify sharing access from your list of data sources, you can select single or multiple data sources.

To modify access to a shared data source from your list of data sources:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Data Sources.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the data source(s) for which you want to update sharing access and click Share.
  3. Click the link beside access (as shown below).

  1. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared data source or click the Remove icon to remove their access.

Note: Available options include Edit and View. If you selected multiple data sources, the Varied icon may display, indicating mixed access to the assets. For example, a user could be the owner of some assets but only have view access to the rest.

  1. Click Apply.

Modifying access from a data source's details page

To modify access to a shared data source from its details page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Data Sources.
  2. Click the name of a data source to open its details page.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared data source or click the Remove icon to remove their access.
  6. Click Apply.

Modifying access from your All Groups page

To modify group access to a shared data source from your All Groups page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Users.
  2. Click Groups to open the All Groups page, where all of the groups in your account are listed.
  3. Click the group for which you want to update sharing access.
  4. Click Data Sources and then click Edit.
  5. Adjust the access settings under Rights or click Remove to remove group access to the data source.
  6. Click Save.

Learn more

Have more questions? Submit a request