Sharing Klip dashboards

This article describes sharing Klip dashboards, which we will refer to from here on simply as “dashboards”. All of the instructions here assume you are in the Klips product area in Klipfolio. To learn how to share PowerMetrics dashboards, click here.

You can share dashboards with individual users or groups within your organization, enabling others to monitor the dashboards (when granted "View" access) or monitor and modify the dashboard (when granted "Edit" access).

When you share a dashboard, you can also share the Klips that display on that dashboard. Learn more about sharing individual Klips here.

This article includes the following sections:

Note: As an alternative to the sharing options described in this article, you can also share dashboards with groups via the Users section. Learn more here.

Sharing concepts

Regardless of where you're sharing from, there are a few common actions to note:

  • If you don't have sharing rights for all of the Klips or dashboards, numbers will display beside Klips and Dashboards (if you’re sharing > 1 dashboard). This indicates how many assets you have the right to share. If you don't have sharing rights for any of the Klips associated with a dashboard, a None icon will display (as shown in the example below).

  • At any time, you can click the link beside access (as shown above, for example, "1 user has access") to see who currently has access to the dashboard(s) and to optionally change or remove their access. To apply the changes, click Apply. To return to the Share window without making changes, click Cancel. For information on modifying access to a shared dashboard and its Klips, see this section.
  • If you want to upgrade your sharing rights for some or all of the dashboards or associated Klips, we suggest you contact the owner of the dashboards and Klips. If the Klip owner upgrades your access but you are still unable to share a Klip, it may be that your user role permissions don't allow you to "Share Klips". Learn more about user role permissions here.
  • After you share a dashboard, it displays in the user's list of dashboards.
  • When you share a dashboard with an individual in your account, an email notification is automatically sent to the recipient. Learn more about email notifications here.

How do I share a dashboard?

You can share a dashboard and its associated Klips from:

Sharing from an open dashboard

To share an open dashboard:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click the dashboard you want to share.
  2. Click its 3-dot menu and select Share > Share with users....
  3. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the dashboard and its Klips. You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients using the drop-down arrow. Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  4. Grant appropriate access for the user or group for this Dashboard and its Klips by selecting the relevant icon from the drop-down lists (either Edit or View).
  5. When you are finished adding users and adjusting their access, click Share.

Sharing from your list of dashboards

To share single or multiple dashboards from your list of dashboards:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Dashboards.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the dashboards(s) you want to share and click Share.

If you select one dashboard to share, its name displays at the top of the Share window. If you select more than one dashboard to share, the total number of selected dashboards displays.

  1. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the dashboard(s) and Klips. You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients using the drop-down arrow. Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  2. Grant appropriate access for the user or group for the Dashboard(s) and Klips by selecting the relevant icon from the drop-down lists (either Edit or View).
  3. When you are finished adding users and adjusting their access, click Share.

Sharing from a dashboard's details page

To share a dashboard from its details page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Dashboards.
  2. Click the name of the dashboard to open its details page.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Click Share with users.
  6. Add users and adjust their access, as detailed above.
  7. When you are finished, click Share.

How do I modify access to a shared dashboard?

After you share a dashboard, you can view, modify, or remove the sharing rights you previously granted to others.

You can modify sharing access from:

Modifying access from an open dashboard

To modify access to a shared dashboard from an open dashboard:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click the dashboard for which you want to update sharing access.
  2. Click its 3-dot menu and select Share > Share with users....
  3. Click the link beside access (as shown below).

  1. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared dashboard or click the Remove icon to remove their access.
  2. Click Apply.

Modifying access from your list of dashboards

To modify access to a shared dashboard from your list of dashboards:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Dashboards.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the dashboard(s) for which you want to update sharing access and click Share.
  3. Click the link beside access (as shown above).
  4. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared dashboard or click the Remove icon to remove their access.
  5. Click Apply.

Modifying access from a dashboard's details page

To modify access to a shared dashboard from a dashboard’s details page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Dashboards.
  2. Click the name of the dashboard to open its details page.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared dashboard or click the Remove icon to remove their access.
  6. Click Apply.

 Learn more

Have more questions? Submit a request