Sharing dashboards

You can share dashboards with individual users or groups within your organization, enabling others to monitor the dashboards (when granted "View" access) or monitor and modify the dashboard (when granted "Edit" access). When you share a dashboard, you may also share the Klips that display on that dashboard. Learn more about sharing individual Klips here.

Note: You can also assign default dashboards to groups that will display when the user logs into Klipfolio or be available to select from the user's list of dashboards (depending on the "Visibility" settings you select). You can grant either viewing or editing access to the default dashboards. Learn more about sharing default dashboards here.

This article includes the following sections:

How do I share a dashboard?

You can share a dashboard, and its associated Klips, from your dashboard or from your list of dashboards. When you share from your dashboard list, you can share an individual dashboard or multi-select more than one dashboard to share.

Sharing from your dashboard

To share a dashboard from your dashboard:

  1. On your dashboard, click the 3-dot menu for the dashboard you want to share and click Share > Share with users....
  2. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the dashboard and its Klips. You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients (accessed by clicking the drop-down arrow). Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  3. Grant appropriate access for the user or group for this Dashboard and its Klips by selecting the relevant icon from the drop-down lists (either Edit or View).

Note: If you don't have sharing rights for all of the Klips, numbers will display beside Klips, indicating how many you have the rights to share. If you don't have sharing rights for any of the Klips associated with a dashboard, a None icon will display (as shown in the example below).

If you want to upgrade your sharing rights for some or all of the dashboards or associated Klips, we suggest you contact the owner of the dashboards and Klips. If the Klip owner upgrades your access but you are still unable to share a Klip, it may be that your user role permissions don't allow you to "Share Klips".

  1. When you are finished adding users and adjusting their access, click Share.

At any time, you can click the link beside access (for example, "2 users and 1 group have access") to see who currently has access to the dashboard(s) and to optionally change or remove their access. To apply the changes, click Apply. To return to the Share window without making changes, click Cancel. For more information about managing shared dashboards and their Klips, see this section.

After you share a dashboard, it displays in the user's list of dashboards.

Sharing from your list of dashboards

To share an individual or multiple dashboards from your list of dashboards:

  1. Click Dashboards in the left navigation bar.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the dashboards(s) you want to share and click Share.

If you select one dashboard to share, its name displays at the top of the Share window. If you select more than one dashboard to share, the total number of selected dashboards displays.

  1. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the dashboard(s) and Klips. You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients (accessed by clicking the drop-down arrow). Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  2. Grant appropriate access for the user or group for the Dashboard(s) and Klips by selecting the relevant icon from the drop-down lists (either Edit or View).

Note: If you don't have sharing rights for all of the dashboards or the Klips, numbers will display beside Dashboards and Klips, indicating how many you have the rights to share. If you don't have sharing rights for any of the Klips associated with a dashboard, a None icon will display (as shown in the example below).

If you want to upgrade your sharing rights for some or all of the dashboards or associated Klips, we suggest you contact the owner of the dashboards and Klips. If the Klip owner upgrades your access but you are still unable to share a Klip, it may be that your user role permissions don't allow you to "Share Klips".

  1. When you are finished adding users and adjusting their access, click Share.

At any time, you can click the link beside access (for example, "2 users and 1 group have access") to see who currently has access to the dashboard(s) and to optionally change or remove their access. To apply the changes, click Apply. To return to the Share window without making changes, click Cancel. For more information about managing shared dashboards and their Klips, see this section.

After you share a dashboard, it displays in the user's list of dashboards.

You can alternatively share an individual dashboard by:

  1. Click Dashboards in the left navigation bar.
  2. On the Dashboards page, select a dashboard from the list.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Click Share with users.
  6. Add users and adjust their access, as detailed above.
  7. When you are finished, click Share.

How do I modify access to a shared dashboard?

After you share a dashboard, you can view, modify, or remove the sharing rights you previously granted to others. You do so either from your dashboard or your list of dashboards.

To modify access to a shared dashboard from your dashboard:

  1. On your dashboard, click the 3-dot menu for the dashboard for which you want to update sharing access and click Share > Share with users....
  2. Click the link beside access (as shown below).

  1. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared dashboard or click the Remove icon to remove their access.

Note: Available options include Edit and View. The Varied icon represents mixed access to the assets, for example, a user could be the owner of some assets but only have sharing access to the rest.

  1. Click Apply.

To modify access to a shared dashboard from your list of dashboards:

  1. Click Dashboards in the left navigation bar.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the dashboard(s) for which you want to update sharing access and click Share.
  3. Click the link beside access (as shown below).

  1. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared dashboard or click the Remove icon to remove their access.

Note: Available options include Edit and View. The Varied icon represents mixed access to the assets, for example, a user could be the owner of some assets but only have view access to the rest.

  1. Click Apply.

You can alternatively modify access to a shared dashboard by:

  1. Click Dashboards in the left navigation bar.
  2. On the Dashboards page, select a dashboard from the list.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared dashboard or click the Remove icon to remove their access.

Note: Available options include Edit and View. The Varied icon represents mixed access to the assets, for example, a user could be the owner of some assets but only have view access to the rest.

  1. Click Apply.

Notes on sharing permissions and access

Your ability to share a dashboard and its associated Klips depends on:

  • Your permissions, determined by the settings selected for your role. To share a dashboard you must have the "share a dashboard" permission associated to your user role. Learn more about user role permissions here.
  • Your access to the dashboard. You must have "Edit" access to the dashboard. If you have "View" access only, you will not be able to share the dashboard with others.

The recipient's access to the shared dashboard and its associated Klips depends on:

  • The recipient's permissions, determined by the settings selected for their role. Regardless of the access level you are granted by the sharer, you can only interact with a dashboard according to the permissions associated with your role. For example, as a user, if you are assigned to the default "View-Only" set of role permissions and someone shares an asset with you that gives you editing rights, you won't be able to edit the asset because your role permissions don't allow editing.
  • The level of access granted by the sharer. For example, if a sharer gives you viewing access to a dashboard and you have a set of permissions that allows editing, you will only be able to view the dashboard.

Note: The default permissions associated to the Admin role enable a user to access, edit, and share ALL assets in the account.

Learn more