Sharing Klips

You can share Klips with individual users or groups within your organization, enabling others to monitor the Klips (when granted “View” access) or monitor and modify the Klips (when granted “Edit” access).

You can either share an individual Klip or you can share a group of Klips by sharing the dashboard in which they display. Learn more about sharing dashboards here.

Klips are associated to the data sources from which they are built. When you share a Klip, you are also given the option to share its associated data source(s). Learn more about sharing data sources here.

This article includes:

Sharing concepts

Regardless of where you're sharing from, there are a few common actions to note:

  • If you don't have sharing rights for all of the Klips or the data sources associated with the Klip(s), numbers will display beside Klips and Data Sources, indicating how many you have the rights to share. If you don't have sharing rights for any of the data sources associated with the Klip, a None icon will display (as shown in the example below).

  • At any time, you can click the link beside access (for example, "2 users and 1 group have access") to see who currently has access to the Klip and to optionally change or remove their access. To apply the changes, click Apply. To return to the Share window without making changes, click Cancel. For more information about modifying access to shared Klips and their data sources, see this section.
  • If you want to upgrade your sharing rights for some or all of the Klips or data sources, we suggest you contact their owner. If the data source owner upgrades your access but you are still unable to share a data source, it may be that your user role permissions don't allow you to "Share data sources". Learn more about user role permissions here.
  • After you share a Klip and its data sources, they display in the recipient's list of Klips.
  • When you share a Klip with an individual in your account, an email notification is automatically sent to the recipient. Learn more about email notifications here.

How do I share a Klip?

You can share a Klip and its associated data source(s) from:

Sharing from your dashboard

To share a Klip from your dashboard:

  1. On your dashboard, click the 3-dot menu for the Klip you want to share and click Share > Share with users ....
  2. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the Klip and its data source(s). You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients (accessed by clicking the drop-down arrow). Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  3. Grant appropriate access for the user or group for this Klip and its Data Sources by selecting the relevant icon from the drop-down lists (either Edit or View).
  1. When you are finished adding users and adjusting their access, click Share.

Sharing from your list of Klips

When you share from your list of Klips, you can select single or multiple Klips to share.

 To share from your list of Klips:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Klips.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the Klip(s) you want to share and click Share.

If you select one Klip to share, its name displays at the top of the Share window. If you select more than one Klip to share, the total number of selected Klips displays.

  1. In the Share dialog, enter either a user name or a group name with which you want to share the Klip(s) and data source(s). You can either type the user or group name or choose from an alphabetical list of recipients (accessed by clicking the drop-down arrow). Continue adding user or group names as needed.
  2. Grant appropriate access for the user or group for the Klip(s) and Data Sources by selecting the relevant icon from the drop-down lists (either Edit or View).
  3. When you are finished adding users and adjusting their access, click Share.

Sharing from a Klip's details page

To share a Klip from its details page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Klips.
  2. Click the name of the Klip to open its details page.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Click Share with users.
  6. Add users and adjust their access, as detailed above.
  7. When you are finished, click Share.

Sharing from your All Groups page

Sharing from your All Groups page is an alternate way of sharing Klips with groups.

To share from your All Groups page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Users.
  2. Click Groups to open the All Groups page, where all of the groups in your account are listed.
  3. Click the group with which you want to share the Klip.
  4. Click Klips and then click Edit. (See below.)

  1. In the Rights column, choose the group’s level of access to the Klip, either Use and edit or Use only.

Note: At this point (before saving your changes) you can add more Klips to share with the group. (See below.)

  1. Click Save.

How do I modify access to a shared Klip?

After you share a Klip, you can view, modify, or remove the sharing rights you previously granted to others.

You can modify sharing access from:

Modifying access from your dashboard

To modify access to a shared Klip from your dashboard:

  1. On your dashboard, click the 3-dot menu for the Klip for which you want to update sharing access and click Share > Share with users.....
  2. Click the link beside access (as shown below).

  1. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared Klip or click the Remove icon to remove their access.

Note: Available options include Edit and View. The Varied icon represents mixed access to the assets, for example, a user could be the owner of some assets but only have view access to the rest.

  1. Click Apply.

Modifying access from your list of Klips

When you modify sharing access from your list of Klips, you can select single or multiple Klips.

To modify access to a shared Klip from your list of Klips:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Klips.
  2. Select the checkbox(es) for the Klip(s) for which you want to update sharing access and click Share.
  3. Click the link beside access (as shown above).
  4. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared Klip or click the Remove icon to remove their access.

Note: Available options include Edit and View. If you selected multiple Klips, the Varied icon may display, indicating mixed access to the assets. For example, a user could be the owner of some assets but only have view access to the rest.

  1. Click Apply.

Modifying access from a Klip's details page

To modify access to a shared Klip from a Klip’s details page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Klips.
  2. Click the name of the Klip to open its details page.
  3. Click Sharing.
  4. Beside Access, click Edit.
  5. Select from the drop-down lists to update others' access to the shared Klip or click the Remove icon to remove their access.
  6. Click Apply.

Modifying access from your All Groups page

To modify group access to a shared Klip from your All Groups page:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Users.
  2. Click Groups to open the All Groups page, where all of the groups in your account are listed.
  3. Click the group for which you want to update sharing access.
  4. Click Klips and then click Edit.
  5. Adjust the access settings under Rights or click Remove to remove group access to the Klip.
  6. Click Save.

Learn more

Have more questions? Submit a request