This article describes some general sharing concepts and answers some questions about sharing permissions and access, including:
- Sharing concepts
- Who can I share with?
- Why can't I share an asset?
- What affects my access to a shared asset?
Note: An "asset" can be a dashboard, Klip, or data source.
When you share a dashboard, you also share, and define the level of access for, the Klips on that dashboard. When you share a Klip, you also have the option of sharing the data source associated to that Klip. There could be times when you are able to share a primary asset (for example, a Klip) but unable to share all of its associated secondary assets (for example, all of the data sources associated to the Klip).
You can share assets with others in your account only. If you want to share with someone outside your account, you can either invite others to join the account or use published links.
There are a couple of factors that determine whether you can share an asset: your permissions and your access to the asset.
- Your permissions:
A role is a set of permissions that determine what a user can do in Klipfolio. There are 4 default roles included with Klipfolio, each with its own set of permissions. However, you can also create custom roles with any combination of permissions.
If you are unable to share an asset, it could be because you don't have the right permission to do so. For example, you could have the permission to "build a dashboard" but if you don't also have the permission to "share a dashboard", you will not be able to share the dashboard, even if you are the owner.
Note: The default permissions associated to the Admin role enable a user to access, edit, and share ALL assets in the account.
For more details on permissions, go here.
- Your access to the asset:
To be able to share an asset, you must have "Edit" access to that asset. If you have "View" access only, you will be unable to share the asset with others.
When you share an asset, the displayed options refer to your access rights to share that asset. When you manage an asset, the displayed options refer to the access rights of others to that asset.
Your role permissions and the access rights granted to you by the sharer both impact how you can interact with a shared asset.
When someone shares with you, they may give you a level of access to an asset that is not supported by your role permissions. In such cases, you will be unable to interact with the asset at the level they granted. For example, as a user, if you are assigned to the default "View-Only" set of role permissions and someone shares an asset with you that gives you editing rights, you won't be able to edit the asset because your role permissions don't allow editing.
Your level of access could be restricted by the sharer, regardless of your role permissions. For example, you could have the role permissions to support editing, but if the sharer gives you viewing access only, you will only be able to view the asset.
Note: If a user is associated to more than one set of role permissions, sharing refers to the permissions with the greater level of access.