Adding new users

When adding a new user, you assign the user to a role (or roles) and, optionally, add them to a group (or groups).

New users will receive an email, inviting them to join your account. In the email, users are prompted to create a password and log into the dashboard. Users can either enter their name and password manually or sign up with their Google account. Learn more about Klipfolio sign in options here.

Notes:

  • Klipfolio includes the default roles of Admin, Editor, and View-Only. If you want to assign a custom role to any of your users, we recommend creating the custom role first so it's available to select as you create your users. For more information, see User roles and access permissions and Adding custom roles.
  • To see how many users your plan includes, navigate to Account > Company > Plans to view your current plan. To see how many users you currently have in your account, in the left navigation sidebar, click Users. Your user count is listed beside All Users

This article describes two options for adding new users:

  • Option 1: Add a single user from the All Users page.
  • Option 2: Add one or more users by clicking the + button next to Users in the left navigation sidebar.

and a section on troubleshooting:

Option 1: Adding single users 

When you add new users (one at a time) from the All Users page, you can also assign them to a role or roles and (optionally) add them to groups.

To add a single user:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Users.
  2. On the All Users page, click the Add a User button.
  3. Optionally, enter the new user’s First Name and Last Name.
    Note: If you don’t enter a first and last name, the new user is created with the default name Last, First. When the user accepts their invitation, the first and last name they enter will overwrite these default names.
  4. Enter the new user’s Email address.
  5. Optionally, under Membership, select the group or groups to which you want to add the user.
  6. Under Roles, assign the user to either a built-in role or a custom role.
    Note: The default Admin role gives the user access to all information associated with your account, regardless of group membership.
  7. Click Save.

Option 2: Adding single or multiple users

When you add users from the left navigation sidebar, you can add one or more users and assign them to a role or roles. However, unlike Option 1, you cannot add users to groups from here. If you want to assign new users to groups, you can use Option 2 to complete the invite process, and then navigate to Users > Groups, where you can add the users to a group or groups. 

To add one or more users:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click the + button beside Users.
  2. In the Invite users to your account page, type or paste one or more email addresses into the Email address(es) text box. Separate addresses by using the enter key, commas, semicolons, or spaces.
    Note: Users are created with the default name Last, First. When the user accepts their invitation, the first and last name they enter will overwrite these default names.
  3. Select a built-in role for the user or click Show custom roles and select a custom role from the drop-down.
    Note: The default Admin role gives the user access to all information associated with your account, regardless of group membership.
  4. Click Invite.

Send a new user an invite link or a new password link

An administrator can give a user access to a dashboard by generating a unique URL. For example, if a user does not receive an invitation by email, an administrator can send the user a custom URL to log into a dashboard.

To generate a new invite or password link:

  1. In the left navigation sidebar, click Users.
  2. Under All Users, select a user.
  3. From the About User page, select the Get New Invite Link (or, New Password Link).
    A unique URL is generated. When clicked the user is prompted to create a password and is automatically logged into the dashboard account.

Note: Click the Resend Invite link to generate a new email invitation. An email invite is only valid for 48 hours from the time it is sent.

Email address already in use?

You may get a message that says the email address you entered is 'already in use'.  Note that email addresses must be unique to Klipfolio.

Here are some reasons why the email address could already be in use:

  • Your colleague has an active trial.
  • Your colleague has an expired trial.
  • Your colleague was added to a different account/company.

Here are some solutions:

  • If the user has an expired trial that they don't need, they can delete the Klipfolio account that is tied to that email address.
  • If the user has an active trial that they don't need, they can delete the trial.
  • If they need to use the current email address for another Klipfolio account, ask them for a different email address.
  • If your colleague doesn't know if they have an existing account, contact Klipfolio Support.

Learn more

Have more questions? Submit a request